Congratulations to the Old RC Schoolhouse and Bleak House in Fogo on receiving their new heritage plaques!
![]() |
| Bleak House in Fogo |
Located in the town of Fogo, Bleak House was built in 1826. Constructed for the English merchant firm Slade and Company, this property was owned by merchant John W. Owen, a former Slade employee, by 1870. Owen sold the property to his former employee and later business partner, merchant Henry Earle and his wife Amelia (née Rolls), in 1897. The Earle firm operated a successful fish business in Fogo until 1967. Bleak House has been operated as a museum since the late 1980s.
Learn more about Bleak House here: https://heritagenl.ca/heritage-property/bleak-house-registered-heritage-structure/
![]() |
| Presentation of a new plaque at the Old RC Schoolhouse in Fogo |
Constructed through fundraising efforts by the local Roman Catholic congregation, the Old RC Schoolhouse building operated as a one-room schoolhouse from 1888 to 1969. It also served as a community space for local concerts and meetings. The porch has two doors, purportedly so that girls and boys could enter the school on different sides.
Learn more about the Old RC Schoolhouse here: https://heritagenl.ca/heritage-property/old-rc-school-house-registered-heritage-structure/


No comments:
Post a Comment